skip navigation

2022 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Ceremony to air Saturday on NHL Network

03/24/2022, 9:45am MDT
By USA Hockey

2022 Winner to be Unveiled During Hour-Long Special

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The recipient of the 2022 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is set to be unveiled on NHL Network Saturday (March 26) during an hour-long show starting at 11:30 a.m. ET. The award, which is in its 25th year, honors the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey. 

Hosted by Jamie Hersch, this year’s special will spotlight the top-10 finalists for the 2022 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, in addition to honoring the 25th anniversary of the award and the history and impact of Patty Kazmaier in the women’s hockey game will be highlighted.

The Top-3

Live interviews will take place with each of this year’s top-three finalists, Taylor Heise (University of Minnesota/Lake City, Minn.), Gabbie Hughes (University of Minnesota Duluth/Lino Lakes, Minn.), Sophie Jaques (Ohio State University/Toronto, Ont.).

In addition, Hersch will host a special roundtable conversation with three previous Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award winners in, Jennifer Botterill (2001, 2003), Kendall Coyne Schofield (2016) and Krissy Wendell (2005).

Pat Kelleher, executive director of USA Hockey and The USA Hockey Foundation, and Serena Veazey, daughter of the late Patty Kazmaier, will also join in the celebration.

NOTES: This year’s top-10 finalists are: Skylar Fontaine (Northeastern/Defense), Aerin Frankel (Northeastern/Goaltender), Élizabeth Giguère (Minnesota Duluth/Forward), Taylor Heise (Minnesota/Forward), Gabbie Hughes (Minnesota Duluth/Forward), Sophie Jaques (Ohio State/Defense), Alina Mueller (Northeastern/Forward), Casey O’Brien (Wisconsin/Forward), Theresa Schafzahl (Vermont/Forward) and Daryl Watts (Wisconsin/Forward). 

More on Heise

More on Hughes

More on Jaques


An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is annually presented to the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey. Selection criteria includes outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement. For a full list of previous honorees, click HERE


The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is named in honor of the late Patty Kazmaier, who was a four-year varsity letter-winner and All-Ivy League defenseman at Princeton University from 1981-86. An accomplished athlete who helped lead the Tigers to the Ivy League Championship in three consecutive seasons (1981-84), Patty Kazmaier-Sandt died Feb. 15, 1990, at the age of 28 following a long struggle with a rare blood disease.

2022 Top-10 Finalists

Skylar Fontaine Defense Graduate Student Northeastern University East Greenwich, R.I.
Aerin Frankel Goaltender Graduate Student Northeastern University Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.
Élizabeth Giguère Forward Fifth Year Senior University of Minnesota Duluth Quebec City, Quebec
Taylor Heise Forward Senior University of Minnesota Lake City, Minn.
Gabbie Hughes Forward Senior University of Minnesota Duluth Lino Lakes, Minn.
Sophie Jaques Defense Senior Ohio State University Toronto, Ontario
Alina Mueller Forward Senior Northeastern University Winterthur, Switzerland
Casey O’Brien Forward Sophomore University of Wisconsin Milton, Mass.
Theresa Schafzahl Forward Senior University of Vermont Weiz, Austria
Daryl Watts Forward Fifth Year Senior University of Wisconsin Toronto, Ontario

Patty Kaz News

Tag(s): Home  Kaz Watch  News