skip navigation

2023 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Recipient To Be Revealed Saturday in Duluth

03/13/2023, 1:29pm MDT
By USA Hockey

Fans invited to attend live award show at AMSOIL Arena and tune in to NHL Network

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The 2023 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Show on NHL Network will air live from the AMSOIL Arena Ticket Lobby in Duluth, Minnesota, on Saturday (March 18) as part of Saturday at the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four.

Doors open at 11 a.m. CT and the 30-minute show, hosted by NHL Network’s Siera Santos, will start promptly at 11:30 a.m. CT. Fans are invited to attend the ceremony free of charge. Light refreshments will be served.

Following the show, those attending will have a chance to get autographs from Olympic gold-medalists Hilary Knight, Maddie Rooney, Amanda Pelkey and AJ Mleczko. Knight and Rooney helped the U.S. earn gold in women’s ice hockey at the Olympics in 2018, while Mleczko was part of the 1998 gold medal-winning U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team.

The NHL, NCAA and Premier Hockey Foundation are partners of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award. For further event information, click HERE.

Media that would like to attend the event can apply for a credential HERE.


The top-three finalists for the 2023 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, Sophie Jaques (Ohio State University), Alina Mueller (Northeastern University) and Danielle Serdachny (Colgate University), will be in attendance for the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Show in Duluth on March 18.

Past winners of the award are also expected to be on hand, in addition to teams participating in the 2023 NCAA Women’s Frozen Four.

Pat Kelleher, executive director of USA Hockey and The USA Hockey Foundation, will be in attendance as well.


An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is annually presented to the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey. Selection criteria includes outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement. The award was first presented in 1998. For a full list of previous honorees, click HERE.


The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is named in honor of the late Patty Kazmaier, who was a four-year varsity letter-winner and All-Ivy League defenseman at Princeton University from 1981-86. An accomplished athlete who helped lead the Tigers to the Ivy League Championship in three consecutive seasons (1981-84), Patty Kazmaier-Sandt died Feb. 15, 1990, at the age of 28 following a long struggle with a rare blood disease.

More Patty Kaz News

Junior forward Abbey Murphy taps the gloves of her teammates after scoring in her white and maroon Minnesota jersey.

Tag(s): Home