skip navigation

Sophie Jaques Named 2023 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Winner

03/18/2023, 10:45am MDT
By USA Hockey

Jaques Is First Buckeye to Win the Award

DULUTH, Minn. – Ohio State University defender Sophie Jaques (Toronto, Ont.) was named the 2023 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award recipient today before an enthusiastic crowd at Amsoil Arena. The event was broadcast live on NHL Network.

Jaques is the first Ohio State player to win the award, which is presented annually by the USA Hockey Foundation to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey.

Just the second blueliner to capture the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award since it was established in 1998, Jacques has helped the Buckeyes to a 33-5-2 record and a spot in tomorrow’s NCAA national championship game.

"This is so special," Jaques said. "I’m so grateful to have all my teammates here and everyone here and the parents as well. I couldn’t have imagined it another way and I’m just so happy that this is how it turned out.”

A 2022-23 CCM/AHCA Women’s Division I All-American, she enters tomorrow’s final game of the season topping all defenders in the NCAA in points (48), goals (24), power-play goals (9) and points per game (1.23) in 40 games played.

Named the WCHA Player of the Year, Jaques led defenders and finished fifth among all players in conference play with points 35 points and 17 goals. She also took home WCHA Defender of the Year honors and was named to the All-WCHA First Team.

Off the ice, Jaques is pursuing a master’s degree in civil engineering through a two-year fellowship program and holds a 3.88 GPA. She was named a WCHA Scholar Athlete and to the WCHA All-Academic Team.

Jaques serves as the vice president of SHEROS, a registered student-athlete organization at Ohio State that strives to provide a safe space for female student-athletes to promote diversity in sports. She also volunteers at The 2nd & 7 Foundation in Columbus, which promotes reading by providing free books and offering positive role models to kids in need.

Jaques was selected as the recipient of the 2023 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award from a group of three finalists that included graduate forward Alina Mueller of Northeastern University and Danielle Serdachy, a senior forward from Colgate University.

NOTES: Jaques is the 26th recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award… Jaques is the first Buckeye to win the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award and only the second defender all-time, joining Angela Ruggiero (2004) … The recipient of the 2023 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award was chosen by a 13-person selection committee made up of NCAA Division I women's ice hockey coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media and an at-large member and representative of USA Hockey, the national governing body for the sport of ice hockey in the United States.


An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is annually presented to the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey. Selection criteria includes outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement. For a full list of previous honorees, click HERE


The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is named in honor of the late Patty Kazmaier, who was a four-year varsity letter-winner and All-Ivy League defenseman at Princeton University from 1981-86. An accomplished athlete who helped lead the Tigers to the Ivy League Championship in three consecutive seasons (1981-84), Patty Kazmaier-Sandt died Feb. 15, 1990, at the age of 28 following a long struggle with a rare blood disease.


Year Name School Position Hometown
2022 Taylor Heise University of Minnesota Forward Lake City, Minn.
2021 Aerin Frankel Northeastern University Goalie Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.
2020 Elizabeth Giguere Clarkson University Forward Quebec City, Que.
2019 Loren Gabel Clarkson University Forward Kitchener, Ont.
2018 Daryl Watts Boston College Forward Toronto, Ont.
2017 Ann-Renée Desbiens University of Wisconsin Goalie La Malbaie, Que.
2016 Kendall Coyne Northeastern University Forward Palos Heights, Ill.
2015 Alex Carpenter Boston College Forward North Reading, Mass.
2014 Jamie Lee Rattray Clarkson University Forward Kanata, Ont.
2013 Amanda Kessel University of Minnesota Forward Madison, Wis.
2012 Brianna Decker University of Wisconsin Forward Dousman, Wis.
2011 Meghan Duggan University of Wisconsin Forward Danvers, Mass.
2010 Vicki Bendus Mercyhurst College Forward Wasaga Beach, Ont.
2009 Jessie Vetter University of Wisconsin Goalie Cottage Grove, Wis.
2008 Sarah Vaillancourt Harvard University  Forward  Sherbrooke, Que. 
2007 Julie Chu Harvard University Forward Fairfield, Conn.
2006 Sara Bauer University of Wisconsin Forward St. Catharines, Ont.
2005 Krissy Wendell University of Minnesota Forward Brooklyn Park, Minn.
2004 Angela Ruggiero Harvard University Defender Harper Woods, Mich.
2003 Jennifer Botterill Harvard University Forward Winnipeg, Man.
2002 Brooke Whitney Northeastern University Forward Snohomish, Wash.
2001 Jennifer Botterill Harvard University Forward Winnipeg, Man.
2000 Ali Brewer Brown University Goalie Racine, Wis.
1999 A.J. Mleczko Harvard University Forward Nantucket, Mass.
1998 Brandy Fisher University of New Hampshire Forward Potsdam, N.Y.

More Patty Kaz News

Junior forward Abbey Murphy taps the gloves of her teammates after scoring in her white and maroon Minnesota jersey.

Tag(s): Home