skip navigation

2024 Patty Kazmaier Award Slated To Be Announced March 23 At Women’s Frozen Four

03/12/2024, 3:30pm MDT
By USA Hockey

Live Announcement Show To Air On NHL Network at 12:30 p.m. ET

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The 2024 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award will be presented to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey during a live television event on NHL Network as part of the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four. 

The show, which is part of Saturday at the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four, will take place Saturday, March 23, from the Whittemore Center Arena lobby on the campus of the University of New Hampshire. Doors open at 12 p.m. ET and the 30-minute show, hosted by NHL Network’s Jamie Hersch, will start promptly at 12:30 p.m. ET. Fans are welcome to attend the ceremony, which is free of charge. Parking is available for free in Lot  A.

Following the show, those in attendance will have the opportunity to meet and get autographs from Olympic gold medalist and University of New Hampshire alum, Kacey Bellamy, along with the first-ever recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award in 1998 and fellow University of New Hampshire alum, Brandy Fisher. Fisher also represented the U.S. at the 1999 and 2000 IIHF Women’s World Championship. 

The NHL, NCAA and PWHL are partners of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award. For further event information, click HERE.


The top-ten finalists for the 2024 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award will be announced, Thursday, March 7, with the top-three finalists expected to be announced Wednesday, March 13. All three finalists will be in attendance for the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Show in Portsmouth, N.H. on March 23. 

Past winners of the award are also expected to be on hand, in addition to teams participating in the 2024 NCAA Women’s Frozen Four.


An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is annually presented to the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey. Selection criteria includes outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement. The award was first presented in 1998. For a full list of previous honorees, click HERE.


The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is named in honor of the late Patty Kazmaier, who was a four-year varsity letter-winner and All-Ivy League defenseman at Princeton University from 1981-86. An accomplished athlete who helped lead the Tigers to the Ivy League Championship in three consecutive seasons (1981-84), Patty Kazmaier-Sandt died Feb. 15, 1990, at the age of 28 following a long struggle with a rare blood disease.

2024 Event Information


Junior forward Abbey Murphy taps the gloves of her teammates after scoring in her white and maroon Minnesota jersey.

Tag(s): Home  Kaz Watch  News