skip navigation

Izzy Daniel Wins 2024 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award

03/23/2024, 10:45am MDT
By USA Hockey

Minneapolis Native Is First Cornell Player to Win the Award

DURHAM, N.H. – Cornell University forward Izzy Daniel (Minneapolis, Minn.) was named the winner of the 2024 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award today during a live ceremony on NHL Network at Whittemore Center Arena as part of Saturday at the NCAA Women’s Frozen Four.

Daniel is the first Cornell University player to win the honor, which is presented annually by the USA Hockey Foundation to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey.

The senior captain’s impressive season helped lead the Big Red to a 25-8-1 record and a NCAA Regional Final appearance.

The ECAC Hockey Player of the Year and Forward of the Year concluded her season with 59 points (21 goals, 38 assists). She averaged 1.74 points per game, which is third nationally and tops in ECAC Hockey, and is among the top-10 in the country in both assists per game (1.12) and goals per game (0.62). 

She was named the HCA National Forward of the Month for November and is a three-time ECAC Hockey Forward of the Week this season.

Off the ice, Daniel is pursuing a degree in industrial and labor relations and holds a 3.59 GPA. She is heavily involved in raising awareness for mental health initiatives, including fundraising for the Do It For Daron campaign. Additionally, she volunteers as a big sister mentor for the Tompkins Girls Hockey Association Cub Club, volunteers for Feed my Starving Children, Toys for Tots and the Salvation Army’s Adopt a Family program. 

Daniel was selected as the 2024 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award recipient from a group of three finalists that included senior forward Casey O’Brien (Milton, Mass./University of Wisconsin) and sophomore forward Kirsten Simms (Plymouth, Mich./University of Wisconsin). 

NOTES: Daniel is the 27th recipient of the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award … The recipient of the 2024 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award was chosen by a 13-person selection committee made up of NCAA Division I women's ice hockey coaches, representatives of print and broadcast media and an at-large member and representative of USA Hockey, the national governing body for the sport of ice hockey in the United States.


An award of The USA Hockey Foundation, the Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is annually presented to the top player in NCAA Division I women's ice hockey. Selection criteria includes outstanding individual and team skills, sportsmanship, performance in the clutch, personal character, competitiveness and a love of hockey. Consideration is also given to academic achievement and civic involvement. For a full list of previous honorees, click HERE


The Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award is named in honor of the late Patty Kazmaier, who was a four-year varsity letter-winner and All-Ivy League defenseman at Princeton University from 1981-86. An accomplished athlete who helped lead the Tigers to the Ivy League Championship in three consecutive seasons (1981-84), Patty Kazmaier-Sandt died Feb. 15, 1990, at the age of 28 following a long struggle with a rare blood disease.


Year Name School Position Hometown
2024 Izzy Daniel Cornell University Forward Minneapolis, Minn.
2023 Sophie Jaques Ohio State University Defender Toronto, Ont.
2022 Taylor Heise University of Minnesota Forward Lake City, Minn.
2021 Aerin Frankel Northeastern University Goalie Briarcliff Manor, N.Y.
2020 Elizabeth Giguere Clarkson University Forward Quebec City, Que.
2019 Loren Gabel Clarkson University Forward Kitchener, Ont.
2018 Daryl Watts Boston College Forward Toronto, Ont.
2017 Ann-Renée Desbiens University of Wisconsin Goalie La Malbaie, Que.
2016 Kendall Coyne Northeastern University Forward Palos Heights, Ill.
2015 Alex Carpenter Boston College Forward North Reading, Mass.
2014 Jamie Lee Rattray Clarkson University Forward Kanata, Ont.
2013 Amanda Kessel University of Minnesota Forward Madison, Wis.
2012 Brianna Decker University of Wisconsin Forward Dousman, Wis.
2011 Meghan Duggan University of Wisconsin Forward Danvers, Mass.
2010 Vicki Bendus Mercyhurst College Forward Wasaga Beach, Ont.
2009 Jessie Vetter University of Wisconsin Goalie Cottage Grove, Wis.
2008 Sarah Vaillancourt Harvard University  Forward  Sherbrooke, Que. 
2007 Julie Chu Harvard University Forward Fairfield, Conn.
2006 Sara Bauer University of Wisconsin Forward St. Catharines, Ont.
2005 Krissy Wendell University of Minnesota Forward Brooklyn Park, Minn.
2004 Angela Ruggiero Harvard University Defender Harper Woods, Mich.
2003 Jennifer Botterill Harvard University Forward Winnipeg, Man.
2002 Brooke Whitney Northeastern University Forward Snohomish, Wash.
2001 Jennifer Botterill Harvard University Forward Winnipeg, Man.
2000 Ali Brewer Brown University Goalie Racine, Wis.
1999 A.J. Mleczko Harvard University Forward Nantucket, Mass.
1998 Brandy Fisher University of New Hampshire Forward Potsdam, N.Y.
Junior forward Abbey Murphy taps the gloves of her teammates after scoring in her white and maroon Minnesota jersey.

Tag(s): Home  Kaz Watch  News